### AFRICAN UNION الأتحاد الأقريقي



# UNION AFRICAINE UNIÃO AFRICANA

Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA P. O. Box 3243 Telephone +251115- 517700 Fax: +251115- 517844
Website: www.africa-union.org

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
Thirteenth Ordinary Session
27 – 28 June 2008
Sharm El-Sheikh, EGYPT

EX.CL/450 (XIII)

REPORT ON THE ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE AFRICAN COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON THE RIGHTS AND WELFARE OF THE CHILD (ACERWC)

## REPORT ON THE ELECTION OF FOUR (4) MEMBERS OF THE AFRICAN COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON THE RIGHTS AND WELFARE OF THE CHILD

#### I. INTRODUCTION

- 1. The African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (the Committee) is established within the African Union, in terms of Article 32 of the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (the Charter).
- 2. The main mandate of the Committee is to promote and protect the rights and welfare of the African Child.

#### II. <u>COMPOSITION</u>

- 3. The Committee is composed of eleven (11) members, who must serve in their personal capacity.
- 4. In terms of Article 33 (3) of the Charter, the Committee shall not include more than one (1) national of the same state.

#### III. TERM OF OFFICE

- 5. In conformity with Article 37 of the Charter, the Members of the Committee shall be elected for a term of five (5) years and may not be re-elected.
- 6. The present session of Council is expected to elect four (4) new Members to replace the Members who were elected for five (5) years by the Third Ordinary Session of the Executive Council held in Maputo, Mozambique in July 2003 and whose terms of office are due to expire in July 2008:
  - 1. Mr. Peter Onyekwere Ebigbo (Nigeria)
  - 2. Mr. Asseffa Bequele (Ethiopia)
  - 3. Mr. Jean Baptiste Zoungrana (Burkina Faso)
  - 4. Ms. Nakpa Polo (Togo)

These members are not eligible for re-election.

#### III. REQUIREMENTS FOR APPOINTMENT

- 7. The requirements for appointment as Member of the Committee are set out in Articles 33 and 35 of the Charter, which require Members of the Committee to be:
  - a) "Of high moral standing, integrity, impartiality and competence in matters of the rights and welfare of the child".
  - b) Nationals of States Parties to the Charter."

#### IV. CURRENT MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

8. The current membership of the Committee is as follows:

NO.	NAME	COUNTRY	TERM OF OFFICE		
1.	Mr. Peter Onyekwere EBIGBO	Nigeria	5 years from July 2003		
2.	Mr. Asseffa BEQUELE	Ethiopia	11 11 11 11		
3.	Mr. Jean Baptiste ZOUNGRANA	Burkina Faso	33 33 33 33 33 33 33 33 33 33 33 33 33		
4.	Ms. Nakpa POLO	Togo	,, ,, ,, ,,		
5.	Ms. Seynabou Ndiaye DIAKHATE	Senegal	5 years from July 2005		
6.	Mrs. Marie-Chantal KOFFI APPOH	Côte d'Ivoire	11 11 11 11 11		
7.	Ms. Martha KOOME	Kenya	11 11 11 11		
8.	Mrs. Mamosebi T. PHOLO	Lesotho	,, ,, ,, ,,		
9.	Ms. Boipelo Lucia SEITLHANO	Botswana	" " " " "		
10.	Mr. Moussa SISSOKO	Mali	,, ,, ,, ,,		
11.	Mrs. Dawlat Ibrahim HASSAN	Egypt	5 years from January 2006		

#### V. PROCESS

- 9. It will be recalled that the Commission by its Note Verbale **BC/OLC/24.9/48.08.Vol.VIII** informed Member States that four (4) vacancies would arise as a result of the expiry, in July 2008, of the term of office of four (4) of the Members of the Committee. In addition, the Commission invited States Parties to the Charter to nominate and submit their candidatures for election during the Thirteenth Ordinary Session of the Executive Council scheduled for Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt in June 2005.
- 10. In response thereto, the Commission received five (5) nominations in respect of the four (4) vacancies.

#### VI. <u>ELECTIONS</u>

11. In conformity with Article 34 of the Charter and Rule 5 (1) (f) of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Council, by which the Assembly has delegated its powers of election, the Executive Council shall elect members of the Committee in June 2008, for appointment by the Assembly. Presently, taking into account the expiry of

the mandate of four members, the Five (5) regions are represented as follows: East (1), Central (Nil), North (1), South (2) and West (3). This means that ideally the election to take place in Sharm el Sheikh should as far as possible take into account the present representation of regions although sadly there are no candidates from Central Africa.

#### VI. CANDIDATURES SUBMITTED

12. The Commission received the following five (5) candidatures in alphabetical order to fill in the four (4) vacancies, for a term of office of five (5) years:

No.	Name	Region	Country
1.	Mrs. Sakinah Ibrahim AMER	North	Libya
2.	Mr. Souleymane ISSOUFOU	West	Niger
3.	Mrs. Agnès <b>KABORE</b>	West	Burkina Faso
4.	Mr. Andrianirainy RASAMOELY	East	Madagascar
5.	Mrs. Maryam <b>UWAIS</b>	West	Nigeria
6.	Mr. Cyprien Adébayo <b>YANCLO</b>	West	Benin

**ANNEXES: List of Candidates and Curricula Vitae** 

### CANDIDATURES FOR MEMBERSHIP OF THE AFRICAN COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON THE RIGHTS AND WELFARE OF THE CHILD

No.	Name	Region	Country
1.	Mrs. Sakinah Ibrahim AMER	North	Libya
2.	Mr. Souleymane ISSOUFOU	West	Niger
3.	Mrs. Agnès <b>KABORE</b>	West	Burkina Faso
4.	Mr. Andrianirainy RASAMOELY	East	Madagascar
5.	Mrs. Maryam <b>UWAIS</b>	West	Nigeria
6.	Mr. Cyprien Adébayo <b>YANCLO</b>	West	Benin

#### **CURRICULUM VITAE OF CANDIDATES**

#### AFRICAN UNION UNION AFRICAINE

#### **African Union Common Repository**

http://archives.au.int

Organs

Council of Ministers & Executive Council Collection

2008

### Report on the election of members of the African committee of experts on the rights and welfare of the child (ACERWC)

#### African Union

African Union

http://archives.au.int/handle/123456789/4549

Downloaded from African Union Common Repository