### **DECISION ON APPOINTMENT OF AU COMMISSIONERS**

## The Assembly:

- **1. TAKES NOTE** of the election by the Executive Council of the Commissioners of the AU Commission;
- **2. APPOINTS** the following persons as Commissioner of the African Union;

a) Mr. Ramtane LAMAMRA (Algeria) - Peace and Security Portfolio

b) Mrs. Julia Dolly JOINER (The - Political Affairs Gambia Portfolio

c) Mrs. Elham Mahmood Ahmed - Infrastructure and IBRAHIM (Egypt) Energy Portfolio

d) Mrs. Bience Philomina GAWANAS - Social Affairs (Namibia) Portfolio

e) Mr. Jean Pierre Onvehoun EZIN - Human Resources, (Benin) Science and Technology Portfolio

f) Mrs. Elizabeth TANKEU (Cameroon) - Trade and Industry Portfolio

g) Mr. M. Maxwell MKWEZALAMBA - Economic Affairs (Malawi) portfolio

- **3. CONGRATULATES** the newly elected Commissioners;
- **4. DECIDES** that the Commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture shall be elected from among female candidates from the Eastern Region;
- **5. AUTHORIZES** the Executive Council to elect and appoint a Commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture during its forthcoming Extraordinary Session and report to the 11<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session of the Assembly:
- **6. DECIDES** that the elected Commissioners who did not take the Oath of Office during the current session of the Assembly should do so before the Chairperson of the Commission.

#### **AFRICAN UNION UNION AFRICAINE**

**African Union Common Repository** 

http://archives.au.int

Organs

**Assembly Collection** 

2007

# Decision on appointment of AU commissioners

# African Union

African Union

http://archives.au.int/handle/123456789/1040

Downloaded from African Union Common Repository