AFRICAN UNION الاتحاد الأفريقي



UNION AFRICAINE

UNIÃO AFRICANA

Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA P. O. Box 3243 Telephone 517 700 Fax : 517844

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL Fifth Ordinary Session 25 June – 3 July 2004 Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA

EX.CL/130 (V)

## COMPOSITION OF THE SUB-COMMITTEES OF THE PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVES COMMITTEE (PRC) 2002-200

#### COMPOSITION OF THE SUB- COMMITTEES OF THE <u>PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVES COMMITTEE</u> <u>2002-2004</u>

#### **INTRODUCTION**

In conformity with Article 21 (2) of the Constitutive Act of the African Union, the Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC) "may set up such sub-committees or working groups as it may deem necessary". During its First Ordinary Session held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on 28 October 2002, the PRC decided to retain the following as Sub-Committees of the PRC:

## 1. Advisory Sub-Committee on Administrative, Budgetary and Financial Matters

- 1. <u>Membership</u>: All Member States.
- 2. Bureau:
- Egypt (Chairperson)
- Rwanda (1<sup>st</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
- Lesotho (2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
- Equatorial Guinea (3<sup>rd</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
- Nigeria (Rapporteur)

### 2. Sub-Committee on Programmes and Conferences

- 1. <u>Membership</u>: all Member States
- 2. <u>Bureau</u>:
  - Algeria (Chairperson)
  - Namibia (1<sup>st</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
  - Burundi (2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
  - Mali (3<sup>rd</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
  - Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (Rapporteur)

## 3. Sub-Committee on Refugees

- 1. <u>Membership</u>: all Member States.
- 2. <u>Bureau</u>:
- Zambia (Chairperson)
- Burkina Faso (1<sup>st</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
- Republic of Congo (2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
- Sudan (3<sup>rd</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
- SADR (Rapporteur)

## 4. Sub-Committee on Contributions

#### 1. <u>Membership</u>:

- West: Burkina Faso, Cote d'Ivoire, Guinea and Nigeria;
- North: Libya and Tunisia;
- East: Djibouti, Rwanda and Sudan;
- Southern: Botswana, Namibia and Zambia;
- Centre: Cameroon, Republic of Congo and Gabon.

#### 2. <u>Bureau</u>:

- Nigeria (Chairperson)
- Cameroon (member)
- Libya (member)
- Botswana (member)
- Rwanda (member)

## 5. Standing Sub-Committee on the Review of the Scale of Assessment<sup>1</sup>

1. <u>Membership</u>:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> It should be pointed out that the Sub-Committee on the Review of the Scale of Assessment has been replaced by a Ministerial Committee composed as follows: Namibia, Malawi (Southern Africa), Chad, Equatorial Guinea (Central Africa), Kenya, Mauritius (East Africa), Ghana, Nigeria (West Africa), Algeria, Libya (North Africa) [Decision EX.CL/Dec. 4 (II)].

- West: Ghana, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea and Nigeria
- North: Algeria and Egypt
- East: Djibouti, Kenya and Mauritius
- Southern: Botswana, Mozambique and Namibia
- Central: Burundi, Chad and Republic of Congo

#### 2. <u>Bureau</u>:

- Chad (Chairperson)
- Ghana (Member)
- Egypt (Member)
- Kenya (Member)
- Mozambique (Member)

## 6. Policy Sub-Committee of the Special Emergency Assistance Fund for Drought and Famine in Africa<sup>2</sup>

- 1. <u>Membership</u>:
  - West: Cote d'Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Mali and Senegal;
  - North: SADR and Algeria;
  - East: Tanzania, Eritrea and Kenya;
  - Southern: Angola, Lesotho and Mozambique;
  - Centre: Burundi, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.
- 2. <u>Bureau</u>:
  - Tanzania (Chairperson)
  - Cote d'Ivoire (2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chairperson)
  - Angola (member)
  - Gabon (member)
  - SADR (member)

## 7. Standing Sub- Committee on Afro-Arab Cooperation<sup>3</sup> (24 Members-12 OAU Member States):

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Algeria replaced Libya after a year in conformity with a decision of the region.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> It was decided that the composition of this Committee would remain unchanged.

West:	Burkina Faso, Ghana, Guinea and Sierra Leone;
North:	Egypt and Tunisia;
East:	Tanzania and Sudan;
Southern:	Zimbabwe and Botswana;
Centre:	Cameroon and Republic of Congo.

## 8. Sub-Committee on Structural Reforms

#### 1. <u>Membership</u>:

- West: Senegal, Ghana, Nigeria and Togo;
- North: Algeria and Libya;
- East: Rwanda, Ethiopia and Uganda;
- Southern: Zimbabwe, Malawi and Mozambique;
- Central: Equatorial Guinea, Burundi and Republic of Congo

### 2. <u>Bureau</u>

- Senegal (Chairperson)
- Libya (Member)
- Zimbabwe (Member)
- East: Rwanda (Member)
- Equatorial Guinea (Rapporteur)
- 9. In conformity with Article 4 (2) of its Rules of Procedure, which stipulates :"The PRC may set up such ad-hoc committees and temporary working groups, as it deems necessary, including a sub-committee on Headquarters and Host Agreements, NEPAD and the Cairo Plan of Action of the Africa/Europe Summit, the PRC has established the following Sub-Committees which have not yet been operationalized:
  - i.) Sub-committee on Headquarters and Host Agreements;
  - ii.) Sub-committee on NEPAD;
  - iii.) Sub-committee on the Cairo Plan of Action of the Africa/Europe Summit.

10. The Executive Council, at its session held in March 2003, in N'djamena, Chad, also decided to establish the following PRC sub-committee:

#### - Sub-Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs.

## 11. Bureau of the PRC<sup>4</sup>

- Mozambique (Chairperson)
- Tunisia (First Vice-Chairperson)
- Chad (Second Vice-Chairperson)
- Nigeria (Third Vice-Chairperson)
- Kenya (Rapporteur)

## 12. DEANS

- The Sudan (Overall Dean)
- Liberia (West)
- Algeria (North)
- Gabon (Centre)
- Rwanda (East)
- Lesotho (Southern)

### **13.** *Troika*<sup>5</sup>

- Mozambique (current Chair)
- South Africa (outgoing Chair)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> The Bureau of the PRC is the same as that of the Executive Council.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> The next Summit being schedule to be held at Headquarters, the incoming Chair will be elected in July 2004.

#### AFRICAN UNION UNION AFRICAINE

**African Union Common Repository** 

http://archives.au.int

Organs

Council of Ministers & Executive Council Collection

2004

# Composition of the sub-committees of the permanent representatives committee (PRC) 2002-2004

## African Union

African Union

http://archives.au.int/handle/123456789/4408 Downloaded from African Union Common Repository