AFRICAN UNION

الاتحاد الأفريقي



UNION AFRICAINE UNIÃO AFRICANA

Fax: 5130 36

Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA P. O. Box 3243 Telephone: 517 700 website: www.www.au.int

SC13860

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL Twenty-Sixth Ordinary Session 23 – 27 January 2015 Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA

EX.CL/883(XXVI) Rev.1 Original: English

REPORT ON ELECTION OF ELEVEN (11) MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY BOARD ON CORRUPTION

REPORT ON ELECTION OF ELEVEN (11) MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY BOARD ON CORRUPTION

1. The election of the Members of the Advisory Board on Corruption is based on the provisions of the African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption (the Convention) and the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Council.

2. The Advisory Board on Corruption is established under Article 22 (1) of the Convention.

3. Article 22 (2) of the Convention provides that the Advisory Board on Corruption shall be composed of eleven (11) members elected by the Executive Council from among a list of experts of the highest integrity, impartiality, and recognized competence in matters relating to preventing and combating corruption and related offences, proposed by the State Parties.

4. In addition, Article 22 (3) - (4) of the Convention provides that the members of the Advisory Board on Corruption shall serve in their personal capacity and that they shall be appointed for a term of two (2) years renewable only once.

5. The current elections relate to all the election of eleven (11) members since the term of office of all the eleven (11) Members who were elected in January 2013 for a term of two (2) years shall expire in January 2015. In conformity with Article 22 (4) of the Convention, four (4) members are not eligible for re-election, having served the maximum two (2) terms, while seven (7) members are eligible, as follows:

NO.	NAME	COUNTRY	ELIGIBILITY FOR RE- ELECTION
1	Mr. Jacques III ACHIAOU	Cote d'Ivoire	Eligible
2	Mr. Tony AIDOO	Ghana	Not eligible
3	Ms. Akossiwa AYENA	Togo	Eligible
4	Ms. Angele BARUMPOZAKO	Burundi	Eligible
5	Mr. Salem BEN-GHARBIA	Libya	Eligible
6	Mr. M'Pere DIARRA	Mali	Not eligible
7	Mr. Jean-Baptiste ELIAS	Benin	Eligible
8	Mr. Edward GAMAYA	Tanzania	Not eligible
9	Mr. Ali Sulaiman MOHAMED	Ethiopia	Eligible
10	Mr. Pierre NZOBABELA	Congo	Eligible
11	Mrs. Julie ONUM-NWARIAKU	Nigeria	Not eligible

6. In light with the practice of the Union, during the elections, the Executive Council must ensure that in the composition of the Advisory Board on Corruption, there is regional and adequate gender representation.

7. It should be recalled that the Assembly adopted Decision Assembly/AU.356 (XVI) during its Sixteenth Ordinary Session held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in January 2011, in which the Commission was requested to "ensure the respect of the principle of geographical representation in all African Union organs with elected members, except in cases where a region which has been duly informed has not presented candidates".

8. The candidatures submitted by the States Parties to the Convention and received by the Commission are the following:

NO.	NAME	COUNTRY	GENDER
1	Mr. Jacques III ACHIAOU*	Cote d'Ivoire	М
2	Mrs. Akossiwa Antoinette AYENA*	Тодо	F
3	Mrs. Angèle BARUMPOZAKO*	Burundi	F
4	Mr. Daniel BATIDAM	Ghana	М
5	Mrs. Aloysie CYANZAYIRE	Rwanda	F
6	Mr. Jean-Baptiste ELIAS*	Benin	М
7	Mr. Aboubacar GUISSE	Mali	М
8	Mr. Joseph Fitzgerald KAMARA	Sierra Leone	М
9	Mr. Ali Sulaiman MOHAMMED*	Ethiopia	М
10	Mr. Ekwabi Webster Tekere MUJUNGU	Tanzania	М
11	Mr. Alhaji Isa Ozi SALAMI	Nigeria	М
12	Mr. Sefako Aaron SEEMA	Lesotho	М
13	Mr. John Kithome TUTA	Kenya	М
14	Mrs. Florence ZIYAMBI	Zimbabwe	F

*Candidates 1, 2, 3, 6 and 9 are seeking re-election

AFRICAN UNION UNION AFRICAINE

African Union Common Repository

http://archives.au.int

Organs

Council of Ministers & Executive Council Collection

2015

Report on election of eleven (11) members of the advisory board on corruption

African Union

African Union

http://archives.au.int/handle/123456789/4668 Downloaded from African Union Common Repository