AFRICAN UNION الاتحاد الأقريقي



UNION AFRICANA UNIÃO AFRICANA

Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA P. O. Box 3243 Telephone +251115- 517700 Fax : +251115- 517844 Website : www.africa-union.org

SC14867

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
Twenty-Seventh Ordinary Session
7 – 12 June 2015
Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA

EX.CL/918(XXVII)
Original: English

REPORT ON THE ELECTION OF SIX (6) MEMBERS OF THE AFRICAN COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON THE RIGHTS AND WELFARE OF THE CHILD (ACEWRC)

REPORT ON THE ELECTION OF SIX (6) MEMBERS OF THE AFRICAN COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON THE RIGHTS AND WELFARE OF THE CHILD (ACEWRC)

- 1. The election of members of the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (ACEWRC) is governed by the provisions of the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (the Charter) and the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Council.
- 2. The ACEWRC is established by Article 33 (1) of the Charter. Under Article 33 (1) of the Charter, the ACEWRC shall consist of eleven (11) members of high moral standing, integrity, impartiality and competence in matters of the rights and welfare of the child. Furthermore, Article 33 (3) of the Charter provides that the ACEWRC shall not include more than one (1) national from the same State.
- **3.** It should be noted that according to the practices of the Union, during the election, the Executive Council should respect the principles of equitable geographical representation and equitable gender representation.
- **4.** It should be recalled that the Assembly adopted Decision Assembly/AU.356 (XVI) during its Sixteenth Ordinary Session held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in January 2011, in which the Commission was requested to "ensure the respect of the principle of geographical representation in all African Union organs with elected members, except in cases where a region which has been duly informed has not presented candidates".
- **5.** This election is being conducted as the term of office of the following six (6) Members of ACWERC who were elected in July 2010 for a term of five (5) years shall expire in July 2015:

NO	NAME	COUNTRY	REGION
1	Ms Amal Muhmamad AL-HANQARI	Libya	North
2	Mr. Alfas M. CHITAKUNYE	Zimbabwe	South
3	Mr. Benyam DAWIT Mezmur	Ethiopia	East
4	Mrs Fatima DELLADJ-SEBAA	Algeria	North
5	Mr Clement Julius MASHAMBA	Tanzania	East
6	Ms Felicite MUHIMPUNDU	Rwanda	East

- **6.** It should be noted that all the six (6) members above mentioned are eligible for re-election in conformity with decision Assembly/AU/Dec.548 (XXIV) on Amendment of Article 37 (1) of the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child adopted during its Twenty-Fourth of the Ordinary Session held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in January 2015.
- 7. In this regard, the current election relate to the election of six (6) Members for a five (5) year term.

8. The Commission would like to draw the attention of Member States, that after the expiry of the terms of office of the six (6) members in July 2015, the regional and gender representation of ACEWRC:

a) Regional representation

Central : 1
East : 0
North : 1
South : 1
West : 2

b) Gender representation

Female members : 4 Male members : 1

9. The candidatures submitted by State Parties and received by the Commission are the following:

NO.	NAME	COUNTRY	REGION	GENDER
1	Ms. Amal Mahmoud Abdalla ALI	Sudan	Eastern	F
2	Mrs. Dikéré Marie-Christine BOCOUM	Cote d'Ivoire	Western	F
3	Ms. Aver GAVAR	Nigeria	Western	F
4	Ms. Ruth JAPPAH-SAMUKAI	Liberia	Western	F
5	Ms. Honorine Félicité Ouedraogo KABORE	Burkina Faso	Western	F
6	Ms. Claudine Uwera KANYAMANZA	Rwanda	Eastern	F
7	Ms. Maria MAPANI-KAWIMBE	Zambia	Southern	F
8	Mr. Clement MASHAMBA*	Tanzania	Eastern	М
9	Mr. Benyam Dawit MEZMUR*	Ethiopia	Eastern	М
10	Ms. Goitseone Nanikie NKWE	Botswana	Southern	F
11	Mr. Lucien RAKOTONIAINA	Madagascar	Eastern	М
12	Mr. Edward Bandawe TWEA	Malawi	Southern	М
13	Mr. Leonard WAMBUA	Kenya	Eastern	М
14	Mrs. Margaret Nantongo ZZIWA	Uganda	Eastern	F

Note: Nos. 8 and 9 are seeking re-election.

Organs

Council of Ministers & Executive Council Collection

2015

Report on the Election of six (6) members of the african Committee of experts on the rights and welfare of the child (ACEWRC)

African Union

African Union

http://archives.au.int/handle/123456789/4777

Downloaded from African Union Common Repository