AFRICAN UNION الاتحاد الأفريقي



UNION AFRICAINE UNIÃO AFRICANA

Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA P. O. Box 3243 Telephone +251115- 517700 Fax : +251115- 517844 Website : www.africa-union.org

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL
Thirteenth Ordinary Session
27 – 28 June 2008
Sharm El Sheikh, EGYPT

EX.CL/448(XIII)

REPORT ON THE ELECTION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY BOARD ON CORRUPTION WITHIN THE AFRICAN UNION

REPORT ON THE ELECTION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY BOARD ON CORRUPTION WITHIN THE AFRICAN UNION

I. <u>INTRODUCTION</u>

- 1. The African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption (the Convention) was adopted by the Second Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the Union in Maputo, Mozambique in July 2003 and entered into force on 5 August 2006, thirty (30) days after the deposit of the fifteenth (15th) instrument of ratification. To date twenty-six (26) Member States have ratified and are States Parties to the Convention.
- 2. The Advisory Board on Corruption (the Board) is established within the African Union, in terms of Article 22 of the Convention. The main mandate of the Committee is to promote and encourage the adoption of measures and actions by Member States to prevent, detect, punish and eradicate corruption and related offences in Africa as well as to follow-up on the application of those measures.

II. COMPOSITION

- 3. The Committee is composed of eleven (11) members, who must serve in their personal capacity.
- 4. In terms of Article 22 (2) of the Convention, in the election of the Members of the Board, Council shall ensure adequate gender representation and equitable geographical representation.

III. TERM OF OFFICE

5. In conformity with Article 22 (4) of the Convention, the Members of the Board numbering eleven (11) are elected for a term of two (2) years and may be re-elected only once.

IV. REQUIREMENTS FOR APPOINTMENT

- 6. The requirements for appointment as Member of the Board are set out in Articles 22 (2) of the Convention, which requires Members of the Board to be:
 - a) "Of the highest integrity, impartiality and recognized competence in matters relating to preventing and combating corruption and related offences".
 - b) Nationals of States Parties to the Convention.

V. ELECTIONS

7. In conformity with Article 34 of the Charter and Rule 5 (1) (f) of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Council, by which the Assembly has delegated its powers of election, the Executive Council is mandated to elect members of the Committee, and submit the names to by the Assembly for appointment

VI. PROCESS FOLLOWED

- 8. The Commission by its Note Verbale BC/OLC/24.12/8/Vol.VIII dated informed Member States that the first eleven (11) Members of the Board would be undertaken during the Twelfth Ordinary Session of the Executive Council scheduled for Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in January 2008. In addition, the Commission invited States Parties to the Convention to nominate and submit their candidatures on or before 15 December 2007.
- 9. It will further be recalled that vide its Note Verbale reference BC/OLC/24.12/64.08/Vol.VIII dated 18 January 2008, the Commission informed Member States that the elections would not take place as scheduled in view of the fact that nominations received from Member States were not sufficient to constitute the Board. The Commission also requested for additional candidatures to be submitted on or before 30 April 2008, and proposed that the elections take place in July 2008.
- 10. At the end of the second deadline for submission of candidatures, namely 30 April 2008, the Commission had received only seven (7) nominations and informed Member States that due to the fact that the States Parties did not submit a sufficient number of candidatures, the elections would be postponed to the next ordinary session of the Executive Council scheduled for Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, in January 2009. The candidatures received so far are as follows:
 - i. Mr. Tougouri Honoré (Burkina Faso);
 - ii. Mr. Jean Butasi (Burundi);
 - iii. Mr. Simon-Pierre Nzobabela (Republic of Congo);
 - iv. Ms. Dorothy Nyagoha Angote (Kenya);
 - v. Mr. Lamina Boto Tsara Dia (Madagascar);
 - vi. Mr. Umaru Atu Kalgo (Nigeria); and
 - vii. Mr. Martin Rushwaya (Zimbabwe).
- 11. The Commission proposes that Council invites States Parties to submit additional candidatures to the Commission, Office of the Legal Counsel, by 30 November 2008, and that elections now take place in January 2009.

AFRICAN UNION UNION AFRICAINE

African Union Common Repository

http://archives.au.int

Organs

Council of Ministers & Executive Council Collection

2008

Report on the election of the members of the advisory board on corruption within the African Union

African Union

African Union

http://archives.au.int/handle/123456789/4527

Downloaded from African Union Common Repository