AFRICAN UNION الاتحاد الأفريقي



UNION AFRICAINE

UNIÃO AFRICANA

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia P. O.

P. O. Box 3243 Telephone: 5517 700 Website: www.au.int Fax: 5517844

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL Thirty-Eight Ordinary Session Videoconference 03 - 04 February 2021 Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

> EX.CL/1276(XXXVIII) Original : English

REPORT ON ELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF SEVEN (7) MEMBERS OF THE AFRICAN COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON THE RIGHTS AND WELFARE OF THE CHILD

REPORT ON ELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF SEVEN (7) MEMBERS OF THE AFRICAN COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON THE RIGHTS AND WELFARE OF THE CHILD

1. The election of Members of the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (ACERWC) is governed by the provisions of the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (the Charter) and the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Council.

2. The ACERWC is established by Article 33 (1) of the Charter. Article 33 (1) of the Charter provides that the ACERWC shall consist of eleven (11) Members of high moral standing, integrity, impartiality and competence in matters of the rights and welfare of the child. Members of the ACERWC serve in their personal capacity.

3. Further, Article 33 (3) of the Charter provides that the ACERWC shall not include more than one (1) national from the same State.

4. The Members of the ACERWC serve for a term of five (5) years which may be renewed only once in accordance with Decision Assembly/AU/Dec. 548 (XXIV) adopted during the Twenty Fourth Ordinary Session of the Assembly, held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in January 2015.

5. The Commission has the honour to inform Member States that the terms of office of the following members of ACERWC who were elected in July 2015 for a term of five (5) years, pursuant to the provisions of Article 37 of the Charter, expired in July 2020:

- i) Mrs. Dikere Marie-Christine Bocoum (Cote d'ivoire)*;
- ii) Ms. Aver Gavar (Nigeria)*;
- iii) Ms. Maria Mapani-Kawimbe (Zambia)*;
- iv) Mr. Clement Machamba (Tanzania);
- v) Mr. Benyam Dawit Mezimur (Ethiopia);
- vi) Ms. Goitseone Nanikie Nkwe (Botswana)*.

Outgoing members i, ii, iii, and vi are eligible for re-election

6. It will be recalled that although the terms of the above mentioned members expired in July 2020, the Executive Council, vide decision **EX.CL/Dec.1105(XXXVII)** adopted in October, 2020, extended their terms until their replacement.

7. Further, the term of office of the following Member of the ACERWC who was <u>appointed</u> in February 2020 to serve the remainder of his predecessor's term of office, expired in **January 2021**:

- i) Mr. Aboubekrine El JERA (Mauritania)
- 8. The outgoing member is eligible for election.

Modalities for Election

9. The Commission would like to draw the attention of all Member States to Decision **EX.CL/907 (XXVIII)** on the Modalities on Implementation of Criteria for Equitable Geographical and Gender Representation in the African Union Organs, adopted by the Executive Council in January 2016. Paragraph 2 of the said Decision provides as follows:

- The regional representation, where applicable, shall be East (2), Central (2), North (2), South (2) and West (2), except in cases in which a region which has been duly informed has not presented candidates;
- ii) Where applicable, one (1) seat shall be a floating seat and will rotate among the five (5) regions;
- iii) At least one (1) member from each region should be a woman;
- iv) The modalities shall become effective immediately.

10. In light of the above, the regional and gender representation at the ACERWC after the end of the terms of office the seven (7) members, will be as follows:

RECION	MEMBERS	GENDER	
REGION		FEMALE	MALE
Central	2	1	1
East	0	0	0
North	1	1	0
South	0	0	0
West	1 (occupying floating seat)	1	0
TOTAL	4	3	1

11. In this regard, during these elections, in accordance with the Modalities on Implementation of Criteria for Equitable Geographical and Gender Representation in the African Union Organs, the following Members shall be elected:

- a) **Eastern Region:** two(2) candidates : one (1) female and one (1) male candidates,
- b) **Southern Region:** two (2) candidates : one (1) female and one (1) male candidates, and
- c) **Western Region:** two (2) candidates: one (1) female and one (1) male candidates.
- d) Northern Region: one (1) male candidate.

12. It will be recalled that the current elections which were scheduled for the 37th Ordinary Session of the Executive Council in October 2020, were postponed by the Executive Council to the 38th Ordinary Session, vide decision **EX.CL/Dec.1105(XXXVII)**. It will further be recalled that the Executive Council decided to retain the list of candidatures already received as follows:

NO.	NAME	GENDER	COUNTRY	REGION
1	Wilson Almeida ADAO	М	Angola	Southern
2	Karoonawtee CHOORAMON	F	Mauritius	Eastern
3	Diénéba DIAKITE TRAORE	F	Mali	Western
4	Aver GAVAR *	F	Nigeria	Western
5	Maria MAPANI-KAWIMBE *	F	Zambia	Southern
6	Anne MUSIWA	F	Zimbabwe	Southern
7	Robert Doya NANIMA	М	Uganda	Eastern
8	Theophane Marie Xavier NIKYEMA	М	Burkina Faso	Western
9	Goitseone Nanikie NKWE-TABANE *	F	Botswana	Southern
10	Rojoniaina RANAIVOSON ANDRIAMAHOLY	F	Madagascar	Eastern
11	Edward Bandawe TWEA	М	Malawi	Southern

* Candidates 4, 5 and 9 are eligible for re-election

13. Subsequently, another vacancy arose due to the expiry of the term of office of the Member from the Northern Region. Consequently, the Commission, through its Note Verbale No. **BC/OLC/24.9/9045.20** dated 18 November 2020, invited States Parties to the Charter, from the Northern Region, to submit candidates on or before the deadline on 20 December 2020.

14. The Commission would like to inform the Executive Council that the candidature received from the States Parties to the Charter, from the Northern Region is as follows:

NO.	NAME	GENDER	COUNTRY	REGION
12	Aboubekrine EL JERA	М	Mauritania	Northern

15. It will be recalled that the Assembly vide decision **Assembly/AU/Dec.760(XXXIII)** adopted in February 2020 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia delegated its authority of appointment of members of AU Organs and institutions, including the ACERWC, to the Executive Council.

16. In this regard the elected members shall automatically and simultaneously be appointed by the Council.

DRAFT DECISION ON THE ELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF SEVEN (7) MEMBERS OF THE AFRICAN COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON THE RIGHTS AND WELFARE OF THE CHILD

The Executive Council,

- 1. **TAKES NOTE** of the Report of the Commission on the Election and Appointment of Seven (7) Members of the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child (ACERWC);
- 2. ELECTS AND APPOINTS the following members of the ACERWC for a term of five (5) years:

NO.	NAME	COUNTRY	REGION	GENDER
1				
2				
3				
4				
5				
6				
7				

AFRICAN UNION UNION AFRICAINE

African Union Common Repository

http://archives.au.int

Organs

Council of Ministers & Executive Council Collection

2021-02-04

Report on Election and Appointment of Seven (7) Members of the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child EX.CL/1276(XXXVIII)

African Union

DCMP

https://archives.au.int/handle/123456789/9522 Downloaded from African Union Common Repository